My field diary/first attempt of filming

So on Saturday I went to the 5Rhythms class in the hope to get some first footage. Unfortunately it did not turn out as expected. I thought that it would be quite easy to get permission to film as I know the dance group quite well, but when I arrived there were 3-4 newcomers to 5Rhythms which were not comfortable with me filming them while dancing. That was of course completely fine, the annoying part was just that those people left half way through, so I could have filmed after all. As it is a meditative dance practice which should not be interrupted, I did not get the chance to reiterate the question. I must say that I was a little frustrated afterwards and it made me realise that I have to take a different approach. People suggested that I should do the filming after the class and just ask a few people to stay a little longer and demonstrate. I think that would be the only way to do it really.

IMG_5454

Photo: Me. Hamar, Norway

Leave a comment